Feels like home

Three years ago today I shifted here. I left the city of Christchurch for a satellite town I didn't particularly like. Clearly I liked the house and I figured I'd learn to live with the township and get used to a new development.

I like the big skies, surrounding countryside, and proximity to the mountains.

It's a friendly place with a phenomenal sense of community. I didn't know anyone here when I shifted and now I'm blessed with many good friends.

The biggest change to my home is the outside. The scappy lawn and boring new house landscaping is gone. Slowly the garden is coming together.

This part is starting to become the wild, textured, predominantly NZ native area I envisaged it as. I'll add more festuca (Banks Peninsula blue tussock) next spring.

It's a favourite haunt of young cats :-)

Today's gratitude: For the sanctuary I call home.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.