A time for everything

By turnx3

Star magnolia

Monday
I went out this morning to do a bit of shopping - buying some cards, and then one of my favourite clothing stores was having a 30% off sale, so I had to go have a look, and I did buy a couple of things! From there, it was off to the “Y” where I swam 60 laps. It was also there that I blipped the beautiful star magnolia blossom - so pretty. In the afternoon I did a bit of housework and read some more of my book for Book Club this evening. It was a non - fiction this month, Salt, by Mark Kurlansky. It’s not a recent book - it was published in 2002, but the lady who was leading it had heard about it on the radio, and was fascinated by it. Me, somewhat less so, with the result I’m still only about half way through it! It has some interesting parts, but he goes into sooo much detail, and goes off at tangents - more than you ever wanted to know about salt - it’s history, science, politics, religious and culinary links! I do intend to finish it, but probably skimming over parts. There was an interesting chapter on the salt industry around Northwich, England, and all the subsidence it caused, some of which I already knew, since Roger’s Dad lives near there, and has often talked about it. Anyway, most people seemed to have found it interesting and basically well-written, though a few did admit to having skimmed through parts of it! From where I was sitting, I could see out the window, and there was a most beautiful sunset sky.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.