The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Cwmtydu

I've tried to give this a slightly distressed look, to remind me of a postcard that I bought when I visited Cwmtydu in the 1990s with my friend Lisa. She had a caravan at Tresaith and I stayed there with L and her daughter a few times. I loved Cwmtydu because of the perfect pebbles and the shape of the bay, but hadn't been back, because Lisa had died, I'd lost the postcard, and forgotten the name of the place.

Several years ago, the people in the tourist info.at Newport, Pembs, recognised my description of how to get there, and told me it was Cwmtydu.
Then I stopped going to Newport because my friend started letting her place through an agency. Years passed. Eventually, however, I went to Tenby, South Pembs, last October, and rediscovered the joys of coastal path walking.

This is how I came to rent a chalet on the Ceredigion coast and revisit Cwmtydu. It hadn't changed much in at least twenty years, though there wasn't a thunderstorm this time! Still a beautiful place to spend time on the beach or in a boat. I like Ceredigion, it's rugged.

I digress. This photo was in fact taken on Sunday. On Monday it rained and the mist closed in around us. There was no point in going on a boat trip from New Quay or anywhere else, so we set off on the long journey home, stopping at Brecon for a drink and a wander round the town.
I didn't take any photos, because B wanted to get on. I did however, find a delightful Emma Bridgewater coffee cup. I'd been looking for one for some time. Perhaps I'll blip it one day.

We arrived back home at around 4. I've been resting ever since, and catching up with Line of Duty. I think I'm also going to enjoy the new BBC drama, The Victim. Many twists...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.