NellieD

By NellieD

Turning Hallway

Turning Hallway is part of the And Breathe exhibition at the Manchester Art Gallery which explores the relationship between art and mindfulness.

American artist James Casebere explores the intersection between photography, sculpture and architecture.  Using cardboard, plaster and styrofoam he builds table-top models of interior spaces.  The models are then lit dramatically and photographed to produce high-specification prints.

Casebere's ambiguous image creates a space for our imagination.  These austere, empty spaces which, although devoid of people or narrative, often suggest a presence or imminent drama.  Is this an institutional, cold, unwelcoming and unnerving place, or is it a calm, quiet place that is a refuge from the busyness of everyday life?

Casebere himself recognises the value of introversion and solitude and says "my works addresses the fact that we are all isolated in our own perspectives, whether it be our own little worlds or larger constructions of society and history."

I felt the picture was really calming and would have taken a seat - if it wasn't already occupied!

I had my second interview for the job this afternoon and it's down to myself and one other. They said they were going to make a decision on the role this afternoon but the agent has just called to say we are both very strong applicants and if they had two vacancies, they would employ us both.  He is going to sleep on it and decide which of us gets the job tomorrow. 

If I don't get it at least I know I've given a good account of myself.  I'll take that as a positive and assume this wasn't the role I am supposed to be in.

Quote for today:
Trust the wait.  Embrace the uncertainty.  Enjoy the beauty of becoming.  When nothing is certain, anything is possible.
- Mandy Hale

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.