flavia13

By flavia13

ASKHAM HALL GARDENS

I felt a need to be on my own today somewhere quiet, good food and lots to photograph.  This happens sometimes after some stressful times and/or unkindness etc etc - just me, but now I know when I need to do this and can do so any time I like.

For me, since moving here Askham Hall Gardens seems to be one of those places that I just find peace of mind. 

I was very lucky today, I had the whole of the gardens all to myself, the cafe was quiet, just a few visitors.  So I started off with some nice coffee.  Then wandered around the gardens for a couple of hours, soaking up the scenery and the beauty of the place. Taking quite a few photos, which I managed to whittle down to about 60.  Then back into the cafe for lunch. 

The food here is fantastic.  I had cheddar cheese and wild garlic quiche with a "small" (quite large actually) selection of their own salads, all ingredients from their own gardens (obviously not the cheese).  Quiche homemade on the premises.  They also have home-made cakes and bake their own pizzas in their own wood-fired oven.  It is a very limited menu but delicious. 

I sat in the corner, reading my book, delicious food and a collection of photos to process and sort.  MAGIC.

For those that don't know, Askham Hall is in the small picturesque village of Askham by the River Lowther.  

Askham Hall is a 14th century pele tower which was  converted into an Elizabethan mansion in the mid 16th century by Thomas Sandford.  His family lived there until 1828 when it became a rectory. It was the home of Lord Lonsdale since the dismantling of nearby Lowther Castle.

It has now been transformed from a stately family home into a stylish hotel/B&B, not sure when.  

Anyone wanting to know more, or maybe even visit, I have included a link. I can recommend The Gardens and Cafe but don't know about staying at The Hall as I never have.

Askham Hall and Gardens

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.