Kipsie

By Kipsie

Home sweet home ..

I went up to the allotment this afternoon to cut some purple sprouting broccoli, got chatting to a plot neighbour, shared some thoughts & plans for the coming growing season, & cut her some rainbow chard which she had never eaten before. An easy crop to grow. I stir fry mine with garlic & onion, very tasty! Took a couple of panoramas with my little Lumix then headed back home to do a bit more in the newly created garden. It's beginning to take shape. Hubby is really interested in all the bird activity. The pair of blackbirds are very busy, Mrs has been tugging away at the fibres on the trunk of the Trachycarpus fortunei, great nesting material, along with the moss from the house roof, while Mr keeps watch from the fence top chasing off the sparrows, blue tits and robins coming in to feed. Blue tit's have taken up residence in two nest boxes.  Hubby said "If we had a big house we would'nt see all this wildlife in the garden because it would be further away" "I'm 75years old, this is the first time I've seen birds collecting stuff to build their nests" Him saying that made me think just how lucky we are to be here and kinda sums up heavenly/blissful. I love my garden, I love wildlife, I love the countryside it gives me lots of pleasure. Being on the allotment site alone early mornings is my perfect start to the day, just me, the plot and birdsong. It's the simple things in life that make me happy & thankful.

I made a batch of mazarin cakes a little earlier, I came across the recipe browsing through a magazine while drinking my early morning caffeine. I had a part block of marzipan in the cupboard that needed using up ... this recipe had marzipan. I' was tempering the chocolate for the glaze topping, when it suddenly occurred to me that Simnel cake requires marzipan. Too late .... maybe Easter 2020.

Thanks to BobsBlips for hosting :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.