snailspace

By snailspace

The Measure of my Love

I fell in love with Science at an early age. A teacher demonstrated some simple Science experiments to us in Junior school: I think that I would have been around 8 years old. To me, it was Magic, no less.

In Grammar School I studied all three sciences: Chemistry, Physics and Biology but Chemistry was always my greatest love. I wanted to wear a white coat and do Blue Skies research when I grew up... I imagined it as being all stinks and bangs, such fun! 

I adored everything in the Chemistry lab, the vessels and retorts - all that copper and glass; the flames, the explosions,  and even that characteristic smell that welcomed me when I walked in the door.

I have never lost my love for Science, nor my belief in it and certainly not the wonder at the sheer Magic of it all. 

One of the reasons that I enjoy cookery so much is its relationship to Science. I love the Alchemy of taking a few ingredients and watching them change state and become something wonderful to eat. Of course, I add my own sprinkling of Culinary Magic but still I understand the science behind the ingredients list and the method of mixing..

So, when I went looking for  a measuring vessel that I could use my stick blender in, imagine how it gladdened my little geeky heart to find this particular Pyrex beaker.

Today's extra is the outcome of this exercise

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.