An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Spring in our step...

Well Outreach said they would be here between 8am and 1pm to fix our Broadband and guess what...they were!  Woo hoo!  

So the day got off to a good start :-))  And then the sun came out.  Perfect.

After months of deliberating over new decor and soft furnishings for our bedroom, we were supposed to go to Laura Ashley today to buy bedlinen, cushions and a throw, but even though there was 50% sale and a further 10% off, I wasn't inspired. 

Over lunch I had a quick look at J Lewis's website and M&S and found exactly what I've been looking for.  Two different but similar duvet sets, that will both work perfectly have been ordered, as well as 5 wallpaper samples from J Lewis.  We will go into J Lewis and choose accessories once we have seen the the duvet sets in the flesh (so to speak :-)  So that's a load off my mind.

Due to the lovely dry weather last week, Billy and Kevin have made great progress painting the front of the house so I am hoping they will get to the Gin Palace next week, to get it freshened up.  With this in mind we went into the garden so that David could empty the back garden furniture out of the Gin Palace, where we store it over the winter.  I joined him with my camera as I wanted to get some shots of the garden as it's looking particularly pretty at the moment.  Alan and Christine were already out there enjoying the sunshine.  Alan didn't stay long though as Ally arrived to take over from Christine and they set off for Glasgow.

It didn't take long for D to remove the garden furniture and I got to enjoy my first seat in the Gin Palace of 2019.  Sadly no gin was partaken, that will be saved for the official 2019 opening, once she's all painted and looking her best again.

It was so lovely to be out in the garden enjoying the fresh air and sunshine. Lola had a ball too, running about mad but thankfully not being too destructive.    More pics in extras (now that my laptop is fixed and editing photos takes seconds rather than hours, my mojo has returned and I actually enjoy taking photos again :-)

In other news, I received a wonderful gift from Jennifer (Bertie & Toby's mum) who I met on a Facebook Golden Retriever page.  She is a fabulous knitter and has knitted me one of her amazing shawl/scarfs (also in extras :-)  

We were supposed to see her and her lovely boys last week but had to postpone when Lola came into season, so she posted it to me.  What a talented woman she is and so kind to knit me one.  I feel very honoured indeed.  It is lovely and soft and smells of apples and I am sure I will be extra thankful for it when we go to Stornoway in September.

A lovely dinner of lasagne and salad and homemade garlic ciabatta whilst glued to the Masters (well done Tiger!) and Alan finally getting home from his adventures with Ally at half past 11.

I think this sums up today :-))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.