Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

A day at the beach for Arch

We got LOTS done today! Archie was out at the beach with Annemique and her boyfriend for most of the day (they had lunch there), and so we got going on a cupboard each. JR tidied up one cupboard, while I did the messy one - the coal cupboard. I've been working up to this for ages...

It's been a coal cupboard for many decades, and I had to tip right over and lean into it to reach the corners. There were several inches of fine coal dust. And it got everywhere - up my nose, in my hair, on my newly washed cardigan. I now have a rather fetching patch of black hair which will have to wait till I have a shower later. There were eight plastic bags of coal dust, which JR carried out and out to the big bin. Too heavy for me, but she's been using heavier and heavier weights in her morning workout sessions. I knew they'd come in handy. A bit more work needed yet and we've almost got a new storage space.

JR's weights exercises came in handy in the afternoon too. We moved the fridge over to the back door - a new fridge is arriving tomorrow. Someone is (supposed to be) picking the old one up the same day.

Annemique brought Archie back and stayed for a chat. And yes, he was sick in the car, but they were ready to shove his face in the poo bag! Always nice to catch up with her and hear about her career and holiday plans. She has schnauzers at home (in Sweden) so loves spending time with Archie sprawled across her lap.

Watching the Masters golf now - Go, Tiger! Fire on, feet up, coffee and biccies to hand, using up the last of the firewood and coal. It’s been bitterly cold today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.