Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Another Cardinal...

I sometimes have to remind myself how truly fortunate I am to have Cardinals in my garden all year.  They are glorious birds, no matter how common they might be.  And when you put one atop the cherry tree, in the blossoms, singing...well, it had to be blipped, didn't it?  I am glad that I had a chance to get out and get some shots of birds in the cherry tree today as the blooms will be mostly spent by the time I get back from Florida next weekend.  

The male cardinals are starting to actively defend territories now.  Lots of chasing going on, and lots of singing - both ways they mark their turf.  Even the females are chasing each other.  Our garden is prime territory since it has everything they need - food, water, shelter and desirable nesting shrubs.  

This morning a male bluebird was checking out the nest box next to the patio.  He was here a few days ago, too, but spent more time today and even gave me a few songs.  Singers crossed.

I actually spent quite a bit of time outside today - first with the macro lens, taking pictures of bees and then with the 300 mm lens for birds.  Having a camera in hand always makes me feel more at peace, and today was no exception.  I thought a lot about Pete today, and how much I am going to miss him.  I heard a Brown Thrasher singing this morning and thought how I would have enjoyed telling him about it.  

I am off bright and early tomorrow to fly to Florida!

xo
Debbi

PS:  And if you'd like to see 4 other shots, they are posted on Flickr, starting HERE with a male carpenter bee in flight (my second choice for a blip today)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.