Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

In memory of...

...my friend, Pete Bacinski who passed from this world suddenly and unexpectedly this week.  Pete was a long-time birder, a respected botanist and naturalist and a gentle, kind soul.  I met him a number of years ago when I was first getting interested in photographing birds.  He was the first person to ever ask to publish one of my photos, for a newspaper column he wrote about birds.  He's been a mentor and a friend, helping me to identify countless birds, and encouraging me with my photography.  He is being mourned by so many people around the country.  

Regarded as a leading expert on birds, he had a particular interest in sparrows and shore birds.  So, I wanted today's blip to be a sparrow, one that I know he liked as much as I do.  He could identify just about any bird by listening to just the first few notes of their song, a truly amazing skill.  Pete, I hope you can hear the sweet sounds of the white-throated sparrow, wherever you are.  My heart is sad.

Late yesterday afternoon, we also took SIL's little dog, Joy to the vet.  She was 17 and failing fast so SIL decided that it was time, but couldn't bring herself to take her.  So, Hubs and I drove little Joy to the vet, and SIL joined us to say goodbye to her, quietly slipping out of the room before the final breath.  Joy passed peacefully, having lived seventeen good years.  The house has a strange emptiness to it right now and we all keep thinking Joy will walk around the corner at any moment.  

So, a bit of a sad journal today, but life will go on.  And this serves to remind me yet again to live every moment.  

Thank you for stopping by.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.