Flying high

Ella and Nathaniel were flying high yesterday at Bamburgh - the castle can be seen bottom right - and I’m flying high today, now safely home after my cataract op. I can’t see with it yet as it is a bit blurry and sore, but in a day or two I should know a benefit.

I had the same procedure on my left eye years ago and it was a very unpleasant procedure. The surgeon struggled for 40 minutes, during which time he shouted at me to keep my eye still. I had no idea I was moving it as all I saw was a white light. The right eye was due to be done shortly afterwards but he refused to do it. Luckily today I got a different surgeon, a very polite man from the Indian subcontinent, who did it in 15 minutes. I was last on the list which gave me 3 hours to stress myself, during which time the 6mg of Valium I’d asked my GP for didn’t seem to have any effect.

The downside is no gym or strenuous hill walking for a month. Just when I was getting back to normal after the ankle break.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.