It's All Clicked Off

Shot themselves in the foot bigtime so they did.

It's something I dabbled with, and it wasn't really any surprise, but the way that Facebook decided to claw back some of the millions they'd spent on Instagram had me reaching for the delete button on that particular piece of software. I'm more than happy to share my images (most of my photos are posted online under a Creative Commons license) but thinking that possibly at some point somewhere around the planet, unbeknownst to me, our Casper might be sold off and used in some billboard campaign whilst someone else makes money off it put the tin lid on the whole thing.

Thank you, and we're leaving. Historygram.

It's the thin end of the wedge though I think. Those big companies are going to find a way of making money off of all us soon enough, but it was good to see how quickly the company backtracked off of the backlash. Too late, too little, and I'll stick with this small but perfectly formed corner of the internet for my daily photofix thank you very much.

And yes, I know it's not a hamster, but I didn't want to trawl the 'net and pinch a picture of someone else's pet rodent. I'll leave that to the likes of Systrom & Co.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.