Not Again!

Perforce I am becoming one of those people who becomes a funeral chaser.
Today I attended my third funeral in about as many months. I am now very familiar with the whole sad business of saying a final farewell to someone’s loved one, including my own, at Mortonhall Crematorium. In this case it was the wife of a fellow cyclist. They had been married for 63 years and so it’s not hard to see what a gap that will leave in his life.
However, the sunshine, spring flowers and newly budding trees made the occasion so much more manageable than had it been cold and wet with that cutting wind that thrives at Mortonhall.

Later, after coffee and sandwiches at the local hostelry, I was offered a lift home by someone who invited me into his house to see ............his shutters. He says he doesn’t have any etchings.
I had told him at the wake that every time I passed his house, his shutters were always closed on so many of his windows and he wanted to prove otherwise, but it was I who was right at least for today and came away with the trophy- a pot of Oxalis triangularis which is my blip of today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.