a lifetime burning

By Sheol

Small Blue Thing

Small Blue Thing

"Today I am
A small blue thing
Like a marble
Or an eye


With my knees against my mouth
I am perfectly round
I am watching you


I am cold against your skin
You are perfectly reflected
I am lost inside your pocket
I am lost against
Your fingers


I am falling down the stairs
I am skipping on the sidewalk
I am thrown against the sky


I am raining down in pieces
I am scattering like light
Scattering like light
Scattering like light


Today I am
A small blue thing
Made of china
Made of glass


I am cool and smooth and curious
I never blink
I am turning in your hand
Turning in your hand
Small blue thing"

Susan Vega - Small Blue Thing


This is the small blue or Cupido Minimus as it is properly called.  I've found them quite hard to take photos of before - they really are small and they don't seem to settle for long, nor do the like people poking camera lenses at them. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.