Spring

I love this time of year when the buds are just emerging into leaf, so I’ve chosen this sycamore with both leaf and flowers.  I went looking for Orange Tip butterflies and I saw at least 8 males (plus one more in our garden), but they were too busy to stop and have there photo taken. I did manage blurred images of a Small Tortoiseshell and Speckled Wood, before they too went on their way (though in the case of the Speckled Wood it was so well camouflaged that I lost sight of it).  I think it was already too warm by the time I was out.

My bird list was good too:
a Chaffinch proclaiming loudly from a bush near the farm
a brilliantly bright Yellow Hammer who spotted me before I could take his portrait
a Lapwing - but a bit far away for a good photo
and a Wheatear, which was also far away, but because he is special I’ve included him as an extra.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.