Kipsie

By Kipsie

Drink from here at your peril

Have you seen the Incredible Hulk???? I rest my case.
 I've come across a couple of old drinking fountains during my Torquay bimbles, this one caught my eye a year or so back but did'nt have my camera with me at the time, now back in the same area looking after different dogs I thought it was time for a snap or 2.  This one is on the site of the old Chelston well, the spout is cast in the shape of a dragons head, & was donated Mr & Mrs Bigge in 1897. Mr Bigg was born up the line, in Newcastle Upon Tyne 1821, joined the navy in 1835, left after 4 years and sailed off to Australia, where he lead a fairly colourful life according to the info I found, was  elected a Member of Parliament for Queensland in 1859. Eventually returning to England and retiring to the English Riviera. There are a few more mentioned in the local history page I found so will have to seek out the others in the future.
Same ol' routine for thing this morning,  first load of bedding on the line before Williams bimble, second load on the line before walking Millie. We explored a different area of the park today. The camellias & rhodos are looking fabulous, this weather suiting the blooms far more than wind & rain. Still relatively quiet when I got there, which was early. The sunlight coming through onto the bluebells, the bird song ..... and then an almighty THUD. We took 2 squirrels by surprise, they both landed on the ground at the same time, making Millie and I both jump. They soon shot back up the tree with Millie giving chase. Did a great circular walk then headed down beside the stream that eventually goes into the sea. I thought Millie would enjoy a cool down, she had a great time running along through the water. Out onto the seafront where it was getting really busy. The seafront traders should be happy with this glorious weather, next week the farmers will be complaining the crops are'nt growing coz they need rain. Hey ho! Tiz in the lap of the gods this weather malarky.
House has been vacuumed, another house, another Dyson, another model. You should seen the iron ... well there is no way I shall be using that one I can tell you. Bedding does'nt need ironing if you fold neatly.

William is snoring away in his bed, Millie ever the optimist is sleeping in the utility room where she is fed, but she's got a bit of wait. They've got to go out again before they are fed, & I've been going a little later with it being so warm.

There'll be plenty to do up the allotment this week if the weather holds. I've got to get my spuds planted. Traditionally  planted on Good Friday so I've been told, but as that date changed from year to year I reckon it was more to do with having the day off work, so cracking on with it, the missus probably expecting a day out with the kids on the Saturday. Church & pub on Sunday, Monday??? I'm not sure .. planting peas perhaps. :) Mine spuds were late going in last year and still gave a reasonable crop. I do need to buy more seed though, & someone popped a pic up of Wilko's seeds being half price now on a FB allotment growers page so might have to nip into Newton Abbot first thing in the morning.

Thank to Marlieske for hosting

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.