Common Enchantments

By MaryElizaR

An Easter Walk

I have not had a long hike in the forest since we came back from the mountains two weeks ago so today was the day.  

Our son and dil here had plans all day and we decided against driving the four hours to North Carolina to spend Easter with the other son and family since we could only stay the night and had to be back home.

So I added some of our favorite sides to the store bought fried chicken for Easter lunch and then we decided to take a little hike.  

We went to Saluda Shoals Park which is not too far from the house and is along the Saluda River.  The trail is all paved so it was really easy to walk the 4 mile round trip.   The trees hang over the trail so it was shady most of the time we were walking.   I knew about this park but it has been about five years since I was last here.  They charge you $5 for parking every time you enter so I usually avoid it.     But now I am thinking the $5 might be worth it to have the shady trail in the early mornings of the summer.    I need to check to see what a yearly membership might be for just using the walking trail.   

The forest was very green!    The only flowers I saw were a few little purple wildflowers and the tulip poplar flowers that were all over the edges of the trail where they were blown by the wind we had on Friday.

This collage shows the green and a view of the river from one of the benches placed along the trail.    

Hope everyone has had a good Sunday!  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.