Easter Morning, and a Lesson on Grace

As is often our custom on the holiday, we visited with my husband's side of the family for Easter. The morning started with church (Lutheran), and included a meal out at a nearby restaurant, followed by a visit at the family home.

The church, located in a little town in the Johnstown area, was beautifully decorated, inside and out, for the holiday. The magnolia trees, dressed in pink blooms, were putting on a spectacular display.

The sermon was heartfelt and inspiring, but the pastor was speaking from a place of grief. His granddaughter, who had been diagnosed with a brain tumor (DIPG) in February of 2018, passed away just a few weeks ago at the age of four.

"And how she would have loved the beautiful flowers in the church on this morning," her grandfather said, from the pulpit, in a voice that choked back tears.

Of all the flowers I saw and smelled, and all the beautiful precious things of Easter, the one thing that stayed with me - that has haunted me - from this day is the story of that precious little girl.

I will not share the names out of respect for the privacy of the family, but I ask a favor: will you pray for them, please? Or if you are not the praying kind, maybe you could send them beams of love and light and grace, to lift them up in this very difficult time?

I thank you in advance, friends across the world. 

With gratitude, from the GirlWithACamera.

The song I've chosen is fitting for this occasion: Unspoken, with Call It Grace.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.