Arkensiel Photography

By arkensielphoto

Yellow Viola

Another hot day and as I did not have much work to do I spent some of it pottering in the garden, which is where I found today’s picture. This little Viola was growing in a discarded pot with dried out compost. I have rescued it and it is now in the Alpine garden, which along with various other parts of the garden is being remodelled. Although it is yellow, not a colour I like for flowers, I thought it deserved its fifteen minutes of fame for continuing to flower despite conditions not being as good as they should be.

The temperature at noon was eighteen degrees Celsius, so one more yellow stripe in the temperature blanket, but only just as one degree lower and then it goes back to green.


It is St George’s day, but in England we do not get a holiday. You are supposed to wear a red rose on St George’s day, not sure where that came from as roses, in general, do not flower in England this early in the year.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.