Colstro

By Colstro

Advent Challenge: Star

Day 20 of anuk's Advent Calendar Challenge

There were plenty of stars to choose from today as stars are a popular feature in Christmas decorations. The star I have chosen is a star-shaped snowflake decoration in London's Oxford Street. With Thursday's regular late night shopping, Oxford Street was understandably busy tonight - the last Thursday before Christmas. I chose to include lots of people and buses moving around to try and convey the sense of activity there.

Earlier in the day I had visited a photographic exhibition at the Barbican Art Gallery called "Everything Was Moving: Photography from the 60s and 70s" which I found enjoyable. After taking this photograph in Oxford Street, I then moved on to the National Portrait Gallery (also late night opening) to view the Taylor Wessing Photographic Portrait Prize. I was glad to see that it was not so dominated this year by pictures of angst-filled teenagers, but I still wonder about the selection criteria for the images. I liked the winning image but, personally, I felt that there were several images in the exhibition which were stronger than the other prizewinners.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.