Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Tenacious Twenty Five

My 25th yard bird to be blipped...the fearsome Cooper's Hawk.  She strafed the feeders several times while I was in the hide today, unsuccessful but persistent.  I suspect she is feeding babies because she hung out for a brief moment when I climbed out of the hide, wielding my camera.  All I was able to manage was one (substandard) shot in the worst possible light...but I'm going with it.  Heavily edited owing to it being horribly backlit.  

Much as I hate to say it, I wish squirrels were on her menu as we have droves of them at the moment.  But squirrels are just a bit too large for most of these small hawks.  

Hubs left on a business trip this morning so I'm at loose ends.  I made it to the gym for 3 miles on the treadmill - day three of my weekly five.  Tomorrow I have a trip to the dentist mid-morning, so we'll see if the gym is in the cards or not.  

First Gray Catbird of the season appeared at one of the suet feeders this morning - made my day as I love them.  The little House Wren is still singing mightily from every tree, and I'm sure he'll attract a female soon enough.  I have to check all the nest boxes tomorrow to see if he's started filling any of them with twigs yet.  Oh yes, spring is my most favorite time of year!

Thanks for stopping by...

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.