flavia13

By flavia13

NOT WINDY MILLER

Another day another mill, but a totally different one.  Having gone to Lytham yesterday reminded me that I had not visited Stott Park Bobbin Mill in Finsthwaite not far from us and I;ve bee past it so many times on my way to Esthwaite Water or Hawkshead.

So I thought I would take G there today whilst hubby had someone round to give us a quote for a new boiler - (yikes!!!)


Stott Park Bobbin Mill
Anyway we got there, paid our entrance fee and discovered we only had 15 minutes to wait until the guided tour was running.  So we went and looked at the external exhibits to wait.  At the alloted time the lady from the shop came out to say that they had literally just that minute had a power cut and please bear with them.  A few minutes later someone else from English Heritage came along to say that there is a power cut affecting a large area in the South Lakes, including Bowness as well as The Mill and it is likely to take a few hours. 

Ironic really, the mill originally set up using steam then converted to electrickery and now it can't run, mostly due to health and safety reasons. 

We all got our money back and sadly came away.  We thought that probably a lot of other things in the area would probably be affected too so just came home and had a restful day.

This is a picture I took from the top car park which I discovered you had to pay for but there is a small free car park by the main entrance!!!!

So a false start today really.  Oh well another time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.