Sparrowfart

It's that time of year again - yes, rising at 5am to go and record how many birds are twittering in my square kilometre somewhere north of Skibbereen. Actually I'm a bit late this year due to gadding around in New Zealand and not feeling like getting up at that hour unless I really had to. Well I couldn't put it off any longer and there seemed to be patch of good weather around sunrise so off I went. Light was just appearing and the birds were up. By the time I got to my patch the sun was up and it was all peachy and golden if chilly. It's an interesting stroll and the usual suspects were there including this rather lovely grey horse who really wanted a bit of company. The birds were out in force - wrens, goldfinches, willow warblers and chiff chaffs all hard at it. As always, there were an awful lot of little beige jobs all twittering mightily and all slightly different. I had to consult a birdsong site when I got home and I reckon I heard a sedge warbler! Result!  Here he is. 
I pass a lake - see extra, and this is a close up of the reedy bits full of festive birds, possibly even grasshopper warblers who sound a bit like rusty saws. Of course you want to here him!

Thanks to youoregon for starting the Abstract Thursday Challenge and to Ingeborg for keeping it so fresh. Happy 200th blipday!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.