Sally Mair - Loving life

By Sallymair

Transformation

Today was one of those days when I got lots done but there was still more to do. I'm so glad I had to sit still for two hours in Gail's chair it made me take a breather.
I'm reading a wonderful book just now which is pre-publication called Becoming Mrs Lewis which is about the relationship between C S Lewis and Joy Davidman
I remember seeing a programme about their relationship many years ago and being fascinated by it. When I got this book to review from NetGalley, I didn't realise at first what I was reading, but it has been completely enthralling.

So what did I do today? I started off by heading into town on the bus for an appointment then walked back via Stockbridge. I totally failed to buy anything in the charity shops....! Came home for lunch with C then headed off to the hairdresser for a fairly drastic, restorative, respray and crop. It feels so much better being short. Gail does my brows by threading, we have an arrangement whereby I buy her threads in India every year and she does my brows in return!
I then walked home via my childhood haunt of Barnton Woods. They are looking quite lovely at the moment. I reminisced as I passed all the trees I used to climb and dangle from as a child. I can never understand why I never broke any bones... Well actually I rarely fell so that may have had something to do with it... or perhaps I just bounced well!
Got to the edge of the Royal High where the path through the park has been closed off for improvements for up to 3 months. It means you either have to walk through the school grounds - if they are open - or take a most unpleasant and long diversion via Queensferry Road!
I popped into Tesco for an energy giving banana after that !!! then home.
After dinner, we went down to K and J's to pick up a wardrobe, fortunately there were younger and fitter people than me to carry it. S had hired a van for the day so we are taking advantage of her good nature and driving skills. E was most upset that her wardrobe, which she had been using as a hiding place (more shades of C S Lewis!) was being taken away.
The periwinkles were on Barnton Avenue just up from my church and that picture was taken by me..... although the other two clearly weren't! I did set up the camera for them though.
18800 steps today, the first of a new week. 1/7

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.