Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Mellow yellow

I planned to go to the tulip festival at a NT property today, but it was so windy and rather cold, and not a very nice day for it so I decided against it. I am still not feeling well and I did not feel like being out in the cold for a long period of time.

Instead Gavin and I went into the village to my previously-favourite cafe...it was demoted as my favourite place as they had stopped serving their best-in-the-world gluten free carrot cake. Today, to my surprise, they had reinstated this popular item - I am sure as all the customers were complaining, and so we had a coffee and a slice of carrot cake, which was delicious. Not that I could finish it, I have lost my appetite since I have been ill but what I had was sublime. Needless to say, it has been reinstated as my favourite cafe!!

So not getting to see tulips today I decided to go in search of yellow fields. There are none in Surrey anymore, ten years ago they were everywhere but I have yet to find any around me. Gavin kindly came with me, and with the patience of Job we searched Kent for these rapeseed fields. We could see them from the M25 but to actually find them once we had turned off the motorway was a different story. As we had given up and were driving back we spotted them - a screech of brakes, quickly pulling up on the side of the road and out the car I leapt to take my photos. This year I wanted heavy grey skies (last year I waited for perfect blue skies) as I felt the dramatic skies was a good contrast to the bright yellow. 

Tonight will be a quiet night at home, Thomas is going to see the latest Marvel movie at the cinema while we will watch a movie on Sky TV at home.

My photo book of Murdoch arrived today and it is lovely, I am so pleased with it.

Oh, and an extra of a cute mother and child scene!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.