Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

New Hobby

Mom has needed something to look forward to doing, a reason to get up in the morning.  So she has taken up "gardening" for the first time.  It started with her taking clippings of her gigantic jade plant and putting them in little pots.  Over time, she started enjoying the feel of the dirt in her fingers and planted most of them in a big terra cotta pot I had in the yard.  She wasn't done, though.  She bought some of the flowers you see her holding.  A big group of them went into a different terra cotta.  This morning a new caregiver came.  Right now she'll only work on Saturdays.  She's young and enthusiastic.  The first thing mom did was drag her out onto the patio and have the poor girl try to re-pot more.  I was watching mom try to give her directions as I was taking care of the birds.  I don't know anything about potting flowers but I do know that the roots must stay attached to them.  Mom was figuring if she planted just the roots they would grow.  It wasn't all that hot (mid-80's) when we went out.  I was roasting in the sun but they seemed comfortable on the patio.  It only took an hour for her to run out of gas because at the moment it's 89°/32°.  They've now gone to her favorite place for a burger and I'm off to do I don't know what.  The important thing is that I'm free for the next 2-1/2 hours!

Flowery pun for Mom:
Q: How do you know you’re in love with a flower?
A: Not a daisy goes by where you don’t think of them.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.