Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Pure White

story continued from yesterday's blip

As it turned out, the opened flower of the mammallaria I photographed last night wasn't quite fully opened.  It must have done so in the middle of the night because when I awoke this morning this was what I saw.  The flower is huge, about 7"/18cm in diameter.  The only cactus flower I've seen which might be larger is that of a saguaro...but I've only seen them from 20 feet away.

There are over 300 varieties of mammallaria.  Chances are that if you have a small cactus which is sort of round-ish in a pot it is one of them. I have a pair of them but they are in the ground.

Thanks for your well-wishes as I was going in for tests Thursday.  I got the results immediately and was told there was no cancer.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.