Woodrow, the Woodpecker

I've been waiting for our first snow to take some pictures at the Great Lakes National Cemetery. We didn't get as much as other places, but we did get a nice coating.

But...it is cold! 27 degrees F, with a brisk wind. It was so windy that the cemetery had all of their flags down, except one. 105 flags to be taken down, and eventually put back up. The cold makes for some quick outdoor services. A few words, a gun salute, and Taps being played. Still solemn...still moving...but quick.

I was on my way home when I stopped to get a couple of snow shots. I missed the spot where I wanted to stop...and slapped her into reverse. I rolled down the passenger window...and...and...AHHHH!!!...it's a tiny woodpecker...6-7 feet away from my window.

I gingerly grabbed my Canon, and started snapping. Automatic ISO was at 3200. TOO HIGH!! Speed was at 200. TOO LOW!! After several camera change settings, and 112 pictures...she left me...but...HOW EXCITING!

One of Michigan's catch phrases sings..."In Michigan...the winter water wonderland." The water I love...the winter I hate not-so-much. I put a few other wintry shots on my Flickr page. If you can handle the brrrr...have a look.

Peck it into LARGE to see how she hangs on with her claws.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.