The Gods of Bird Blips are having a laugh..

... at my expense. I was due to meet a friend for lunch and a wander today, but as she was unwell, she cancelled this morning, giving me an unexpected opportunity for a bit of birding. I might have decided to stay at home and take it easy, but as the forecast was for dry, if dull weather, and as the next few days are shaping up to be very wet, I thought I should make the most of it. I went, more in hope than expectation, to Rother Valley Country Park. Although I didn't get the hoped-for new bird blip, I had a great day's birding: tufties, goldeneye, goosander, wigeon, cormorant, kingfisher, heron, redwing, fieldfare, great crested grebe - and ironically, the closest ever sighting I've had of a Shelduck. If anyone doubted my sighting last week, I give you 144b.
Today is the Winter Solstice - the days start to lengthen now - for me the best cause for celebration at this time of year. It's still a long time to Spring, but it feels like the corner is turned when the nights get shorter.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.