1st Duke of Wellington with Hat

There are no prizes for guessing where I was today. I caught the 7:30am bus to that ‘Dear Green Place’ to the west of Edinburgh in time to have a chin wag with Glasgow daughter before she went to work. I arrived so early that most of the shops were still closed , but Princes Square, The Mecca of Edinburgh shoppers delivered the goods, coffee and hot chocolate.

There was a wander round the shops before I met the mother of my ex son-in -law ,who died so suddenly in February, in the Glasgow Concert Halls for some lunch. If Princes Square is the Mecca for shoppers from the east then the Concert Halls are a Mecca for inmates of retirement homes; never have a seen so many people of an advanced age under one roof. Still we had enough chat to be able to ignore the somewhat elderly feel to the place.
It was a grand day out. I do like Glasgow but Edinburgh feels like home.

Back at the ranch, it is all hands on deck ( only mine of course) to make soup in preparation for distinguished Orkney visitors expected for supper tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.