flavia13

By flavia13

SETTLE DOWN NOW - TT205

Took G to Settle in North Yorkshire today.  Hadn't realised that Tuesdays was Market day so it was quite busy.  No problem parking though.  We visited The Folly, a 17th century building, the oldest in Settle I believe.  I could't get a good photo of it because of all the cars parked outside and the numerous signs advertising their coffee shop.

The Folly has been many things over the years from a private house to a Fish and Chip shop and many things inbetween. It is now a museum for North Craven Life, detailing the many types of employment in the area.  It also has various exhibitions.  Today there were panels up showing you the history of the Settle to Carlisle Railway Line and had a fantastic hugely enlarged photograph of a steam train going over the Ribblehead Viaduct with  many people photographing it. I couldn't get a decent photograph because the lighting in the place kept glaring it back at me.
(This link is on my photo of the said viaduct on 8th January Ribblehead 8th Jan).

We found it quite interesting though.  The coffee shop is nice and it has a lovely little shop selling stuff made locally.

We met a volunteer who was very knowledgeable about Settle and The Viaduct. He was very interesting, friendly and was very happy to chat to us.

In the meeting room there was also a small photographic exhibition of Settle life through the years, which I found interesting.

We then sauntered through the market, visited Pages Secondhand Bookshop and then went for a lovely lunch at .

G had to sit down several times but mostly this wasn't a problem.  After lunch I put him back in the car whilst I just took a very short walk up to Upper Settle and The Green.  The photograph is a view taken from The Green.  Unfortunately I couldn't get it without the electric lines in it and trying to removed them in Lightroom just made it looks blurry.

Hubby's car had to be fixed today so that is what he was doing.  The computer shop still hasn't received the new laptop they are going to prepare for me to my specification and G is building up to visiting the dentist tomorrow.

Hope you've all had a good day, weather was lovely in this part of the world.

My entry for TIny Tuesday because there are loads of tiny dandelions in this picture.  Thanks to ninniex for hosting.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.