Sparrow and poppies

A quick blip today, been working in the kitchen doing Christmas baking - shortbread, snowballs, white xmas and chocolate caramel slice. Seen as I don't bake very often anymore, being 'empty nesters', its these sweet delights which will probably become our Christmas treats, along with Mum's Christmas mince pies, they are always divine!!

Just popped out my lounge door to find a wee sparrow having a little drink. They seem to only drink from this bird bath rather than wash, is this normal? The blackbirds get in and really splash around, sometimes they empty it but the little birds just seem to sip the water, it could be too deep or maybe they just have dust baths, I'm not really sure.

Love my poppies, self sown from my neighbour. I had one poppy last year and just let it go to seed, can't believe how many I have this year - its really filled this spot. I didn't have a choice of colour but don't mind the delicate pink against the differing shades of green, thats a buxus hedge in the foreground, a new area to my garden and still needing much more doing to it. The poor wee sparrow doesn't look real but I assure you it is.

Time for me to think about some tea and get the washing off the line, hope your all enjoying the weekend :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.