Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

May landscape

Cowslips - Primula veris

Today Hazel and I took a bus up to the Science Centre and walked back across Morn Hill.  This is what it looked like.  When we were growing up the acres of cowslips my mum remembered on the chalk downland of her childhood had entirely gone.  I only knew what the flowers looked like from picture books.  But in the '90s, after the M3 was rammed through Twyford Down a few were sown on the walls of the cutting as a kind of sop, a naturefication.  Now they've rampaged all over the hills and flower in their thousands and millions - but I have never seen as many in one place as this..

And just to say, for those of you who prefer your cowslips in colour, I don't but I sympathise.  Colour version in Extras.

Have a very happy evening  xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.