Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Spring cleaning

Elizabeth came for Archie, causing the usual excitement, and they went off happily for their day out.

We then popped out to buy a set of screwdrivers, as I’d given my assorted ones (but never the right size) away yesterday. Got a dinky little set for £9. Came home to try them out. We want to change the switch plates in the hallway. Now, my theory is that it can’t be that hard... so I checked on YouTube, and the good advice (apart from turning OFF the power to the lights first) was to take a photo of the existing wires, so that they can be put back the same way. Good tip. Easy peasy.

Got the first one done, but jings it's fiddly... you really need three hands. Then I tried the next one - it was a tricky one with four wires, but I only had three connections. Put it back on. Tried another one, and it had two blue wires. So I screwed that back on. I'll pay an electrician to do them.

Meanwhile, JR has been going crazy. Talk about spring cleaning. She's been like this since cleaning up after the renovations. She's always been tidy, but now not a speck of dust is tolerated, nor a tiny mark on the shower door or window or mirror. I'm lucky - I don’t see them. Even if I did, I can live with them.

After giving up on the switches, I retired to the sofa read my book.

Archie had a wash and brush up before his day out. He seems to be cultivating a comb-over...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.