DERELICT SUNDAY - GRADE II LISTED TELEPHONE KIOSK

When we went out last Monday to the bridge over the motorway so that I could get my Mono Monday shot, Mr. HCB parked on the opposite side of the road, and when I went back to the car, he pointed out this derelict telephone kiosk.  I decided today, rather than wandering around the countryside looking for dereliction, I could use this, which is almost on our doorstep.

It’s difficult to understand why a telephone kiosk like this isn’t just demolished - it's obviously unsafe, as you will see by the “stretchers” on each of the panels at the sides and front, but then I wondered if this particular telephone kiosk is of historical interest.  

When we got home, I decided to do some research online and it would appear that between 1968 and 1983, 11,000 of these, known as K8 telephone kiosks were installed. 

I was very surprised to find that this particular telephone kiosk at Woodland View, Wroughton, near Swindon is designated as Grade II Listed  but of course, the introduction and widespread use of mobile phones has generally meant that telephone kiosks such as these are no longer used.

Interestingly, although this particular type of telephone kiosk was manufactured by the Lion Foundry between 1968 and 1983, there are only 12 surviving kiosks like this one - and we never knew one was so close to us - I wonder if there is one close to you?  

Finding this telephone kiosk and researching why such a derelict-looking object has been preserved, just shows that you can, as I always told my sons, learn something new every day of your life!

"It is important for all of us 
     to appreciate where we come from 
          and how that history has really shaped us 
               in ways that we might not understand."
Sonia Sotomayor

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.