Imagine the view....

By btc

The 'Wobbly Bridge'...

...how easy it is to be stuck with a label when something goes wrong.

This is the Millennium Bridge, more widely known by Londoners as the 'Wobbly Bridge' it links the Bankside of the city to the south bank of the Thames. It's called the Wobbly bridge because 2 days after it opened pedestrians reported a swaying motion on the bridge so severe that some people were being knocked off their feet and others physically sick whilst walking across, the bridge was then closed for 2 years to fix the problem.

The natural sway motion of people walking caused small sideways oscillations in the bridge, which in turn caused people on the bridge to sway in step, increasing the amplitude of the bridge oscillations and continually reinforcing the effect.

This isn't unusual because as I reported in my blip previously, Albert Bridge suffers from the problem and there is a sign for troops of the nearby barracks that they are not allowed to walk in step whilst crossing the bridge.

So it looks like I'm back to the blue neon lights again for another bridge after the classic style of Richmond Bridge yesterday, I was undecided with which view to choose so feel free to have a look on top and underneath, you can tell me if I picked the right one.

Thanks again for all the comments, stars and favs for yesterdays blip that got me onto the spotlight page, I hope that the weather isn't ruining your weekend.

p.s. you might notice a little building at the end of it called St Pauls

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.