Herring Gull #54

This morning I took and early visit to Spike Island with the intention of going onto the marsh to try to photograph the linnets or whitethroats. I arrive in the sunshine, but there were some ominous black clouds around which were nowhere to be seen 1o minutes before. I was not prepared for rain and it wasn't even forecast. 
I met one of the other regulars and spent far too much time with him discussing the fact that the 8 eggs that the swans have been sitting on must be close to hatching, and then I headed towards the marsh. I sat on the one bench and did a scan of the marsh, only to see another birder already on the marsh in a portable type of hide and I didn't want to disturb them by rocking up nearby, so I sat on the bench for a while longer. 
After 10-15 minutes I had had enough and had also seen a couple of dog walkers go out on the marsh so decided to join them, but just as I arrive at the entrance, it started to spit and the black clouds were looking too black and wet to be ignored. With no waterproofs I had no option but to head back to the car. 
I waited for another 20 minutes in the car but in the end gave up and went home. I took precisely two shots of this herring gull on my way in and this is one of them. 

Dinner at my parents today for my brother's birthday and back home in time for Victoria(which my husband watches) or Line of Duty(which my parents watch). I have not been watching either so have been continuing my research into places to go when we go to Askrigg in a couple of weekends time. 

Tomorrow I am off to Sweden for a week with the Canadian team to do some testing. Quite looking forward to it as I do like their company. 

Have a good week everybody and thanks for all the lovely comments, hearts and stars about yesterday's little owl - I loved seeing it!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.