elephants

And now we are in South Luangwa National Park, near Mfuwe, for a few days' holiday. We are staying at Wildlife Camp, the very same place I came to 12 years ago and loved so much. I never thought in my wildest dreams that I would have a second chance to be here, so I'm determined to make the most of every moment. In the afternoons we are supposed to nap but I can't close my eyes. I want to be present for it all, to take in this glorious landscape and its wildlife for as long as I can.

Our "punishing schedule" is as follows:

Up at 5am and breakfast at 5.30 while dawn arrives  over the river.
Out at 6 for four hours of driving in the Park with our guide Victor.
Back at 10 when I go for a dip in the (tiny) pool to wake myself up.
Lunch at 11.30
12 - 3.30 "Rest" (also we have internet between 12 and 2)
3.30 tea
4-8pm another four hours of driving
8.30 Dinner
9.30 ZZZZZZZZZ

There's lots of wildlife to see. Its always exciting to see elephants up close although not too close as I have a vivid memory from 12 years ago of a man knocked off his bicycle by an elephant and dying of infection a week later, leaving a wife and 7  children.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.