here and now

Another sunny day. I've cycled around Glenkiln and done quite a bit of gardening. 

Luke is cooking the tea tonight. If there are any good things to come out of lockdown, one of them is that we are having the pleasure of his company (and his cooking!) for the foreseeable future. 


I do feel for young people at this time, though. So many plans put on hold, and relationships too. It's easier for older people like me to live a quiet life. Even though usually I love to get out and about, I'm surprised by how content I feel at home right now, with the memories of past trips and outings to revisit in my head if I choose to...but as the weeks go by, I'm finding it easier to live in the here and now, not thinking too much about the future beyond planting seeds or what's for tea.

I do realise that I'm fortunate in that I live in the country and have space to walk and cycle without risk of infection from you know what, but that people cooped up in cities and high rise flats may not have that option. Sarah says that today she has seen parks and open spaces in London full of people gathering in groups and having picnics.

Whatever the future holds, I'm sure our  tea will be a good one tonight :-). and also we have a new plan that whoever cooks makes a playlist, so some good music too..

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.