A time for everything

By turnx3

Current reading

Saturday
A gloomy day today, raining much of the day. We went swimming at the “Y”, otherwise spent the day at home. This is my current reading I have out from the library. The bottom book, The Lighthouse Keepers daughter I have finished, and I thoroughly recommend. It is the choice for next week’s book club, which it turns out I am unfortunately going to have to miss. I am almost half way through The Zookeepers wife, written by the poet and naturalist Diane Ackerman, and based on the true story of Antonina and Jan Zabinskabook, directors of the Warsaw Zoo, who saved the lives of 300 Jews who had been imprisoned in the Warsaw Ghetto following the German invasion of Poland on September 1, 1939. It draws heavily on the journal of Antonina, and whilst an interesting and moving story, seems rather awkwardly written at times. The Barbara Kingsolver book I have yet to read. We read her book Unsheltered in Book Club a couple of months ago, and it got me interested in reading more.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.