Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

It's a boy!

Isobel took Archie out this morning. It's great that she fits him in whenever she can in her very busy medical training. Mind you, he gives her such a welcome when she appears at the gate, I’m sure it's worth it. Also, she can’t study all the time that she's not on a ward.

They went down to Princes Street Gardens, where Archie made friends with a big greyhound, and was rather alarmed by the remote grass cutters that were whizzing about.

JR went supermarket shopping, and I watched 'Donovan and the Beatles in India', which I’d recorded ages ago. I was a big fan of Donovan (and the Beatles, of course). He was very sweet - they took him back to Rishikesh, 50 years after their visit to the Maharishi. But while it had about 20 cottages then, it had expanded to about 200. But nowadays it's derelict. He did a wee concert for some lucky tourists who happened to be there at the time.

I gave Archie a haircut. He's so good, just stands there and doesn’t complain, though it does take quite a while. I then continue the torture by snipping away round his ears while he's on the sofa beside me. Here he is, posing by the aquilegia while I fired up the wok. It's the only flower I know, but it's a good one.

It's the Big Day tomorrow. I've been waiting for this day for 16 weeks. I'm rather nervous. What will he do? If he just sends me home again with another appointment in 16 weeks, I may glue myself to his desk. I'm hoping he'll have an Immediate Plan for fixing my knees, which are almost three years (in July) of being Not Right.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.