Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Knee Day D Day

Sometimes, sort of dawn time, Archie will stomp on my chest, flop down on top of me, then slide back so that his head is on my pillow. I love it when he does that, and would love to snooze on for hours.

He did that this morning, and made me get up too late to have breakfast before I had to rush off to the bus.

I had my appointment with the knee consultant. Not really good news, though he thought it was. My right knee is not infected (my latest blood test confirmed), which means that sticking a needle in to drain it is not on the cards. This is good. But it also means that he now doesn’t know what's wrong. I’d prefer that he did...

A few x-rays were done, showing that the hardware is all fine. So now I’ll have a bone scan. He did mention that if there was nothing conclusive from that, then he didn’t really know what to do next. Which is very depressing.

I'm just very unlucky, apparently. But with TWO unsuccessful knee replacements, I’m in a very small percentage of Very Very Unlucky patients.

So... the bike will be back in action tomorrow, and I’m being sent to physio. And I really must get out walking as far as I can every day. No more sofa afternoons! Unless, of course, the weather is inclement...

JR and Archie walked across the Meadows to check out a new cafe, while I took the bus round - but walked back! (5,636 steps) Archie was very obliging while we chucked blossom at him. Bless.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.