Gorse on Rousay (Day 1461)

A bit of an early start this morning so that I could get along to Tingwall to catch the ferry across to Rousay. I met Vincent the sparkatrician at Tingwall and, once off the boat, we made our way along to the fire station. On my last visit there I was able to deduce that the problem with the borehole pump which supplies water to the building was probably an electrical one. Vincent spent a while checking wiring inside before suggesting that the problem was most likely in the pump or the cable supplying it. There was only one thing for it - haul the pump up out of the hole. I had thought about doing it the last time I was there but reckoned I might struggle. It took Vincent and me over an hour to pull the pump 100 odd metres to the surface, and we were both knackered by the time we managed. It is a heavy lump of a thing! A couple of metres from the pump, we found two areas of the power cable which were badly damaged - undoubtedly the cause of the problem. It took a while to make everything safe, coil up all the cables, and put the pump somewhere safe to wait for us to get new power cable. It looks like there will be another trip to Rousay next week sometime (extra shot of the pump). 
With a little bit of time to kill before the ferry, I had a drive around and stopped to take a few pics. The bright yellow gorse looked good against the bright blue sky today.
I was home in time to see  my beautiful wife zooming off to work. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.