Thank You For the Days ..

By Fyael

Northern Light

I took this from the car as we whizzed up to Angus this morning. The sun was blazing and the gold of the rape fields was almost painful to the eyes. 

When we got to Amanda's house, in the early afternoon, I was cowering on her doorstep as hail lashed down on me.  

An hour later, the sun was out again, and steam was rising from the potato fields, which are still bare earth. A spring day in the North East of Scotland!

We had a bit of an explore of the village and found one of the houses where my grandmother lived. We also saw the signs to the local beauty spot called Vinney Den. Bizarrely, they called their youngest child, born about 10 years after they moved away, after this place. And this was in 1922. She was daughter number 6, and they'd used up all the family names by then.  The poor mite died in infancy, so we don't know how she'd have fared in life with such a weird moniker. 

I'm extremely happy with the work Amanda has done the quilt, and no doubt it will appear here the next time I need a blip in a hurry.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.