Charborough Park

The Highwood Garden in the Charborough Estate is open to the public for a few days during spring to raise funds for various charities. Today was one such day and was the first time I have ever visited, even though it is not far away. The estate is surrounded by a huge wall, so it was fascinating to be able to see what lay beyond the grand gateway. There is a long approach through lovely parkland, then a walk through the woods with its carpet of bluebells (now past their prime) and wild garlic, passing by rhododendrons and azaleas on the way to the tower and the view down over the house and parkland where deer graze. I was the last visitor to leave..... :) 

Three more images in extras. The first is of the deer (I liked the way just one was looking back at me) and two different views of the tower.

And that was just the afternoon! In the morning, I went for a walk along the river, then delivered some of my prints to the camera club secretary for consideration for next year's external competitions, then on to have coffee with my friend who is over from Uganda and returns there tomorrow - it was so good to catch up with her and also her mum and dad.

Today's blip for my b&w journal

Thanks very much for all the great comments, stars and hearts for yesterday's woodpecker!


Ann :))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.