Unfurling

Dear Diary,

I've always thought these ferns look like tiny clenched fists raised in protest to the long winters around here.  A gesture of quiet defiance.  Soon, they will be unfurling their beautiful fronds and another summer will begin.  I'm afraid Auntie's tree will bloom after I'm gone but perhaps it will still be in flower when I return.  As I was sitting on the back porch commiserating with myself over the possibility of missing the flowers, a lovely cardinal landed at the feeder.  Cardinals are "messengers" and I took that as a nod from my dear Aunt.  Well, it made me feel good anyway.

I'm trying to arrange for a new person to do lawn mowing.  My previous man sold his business and the new owner has not responded to my phone calls.  Sigh...I don't want to come home to a hay field!  I'm interviewing someone today.  Finger's crossed...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.