Rodents rule

By squirk

How much is that doggy..?

Priceless.

I arrived in Aberdeen in the dark and dreich. I heard the rain pelting the train in the early hours and it was fair damp in the granite city. After many a twist and turn, I found the left luggage and the man searched my bag, found the wrapped presents and told me to "tak them awae wi' ye". Damn those festive bombs, especially since they were half the bag and included some of the heavier items, too. Ah well.

The cafe where I met Loz wasn't too far away and I enjoyed a huge pancake stack with maple syrup - yum! I recommend Books and Beans if you need a bit of calm, and it's open early enough for a sleeper train arrival, too. Loz was in great form and it was really fab to catch up. I laugh so easily with her - our teenage silliness clicks in once again and nothing can stop us.

I caught the day train to Inverness and was gobsmacked to be presented with a two-carriage affair. Two carriages to connect two cities - what a joke! Indeed, the train was full and many people, like me, had big bags. The conductor was very patient and helped us out with finding us places. Many people were kind, helping her out by moving luggage and clearing the way. However, one lady (quite posh) swore at her when she asked the lady to move her bag off the seat next to her. Good grief.

I nabbed a fold-down seat near the door and waited for the tea trolley. When it came, the man complemented me for smiling when everyone else was being quite miserable. Well, he was in charge of the tea trolley and I'm not one for messing with the person holding the kettle and biscuits.

I watched the train fill up at Aberdeen Airport (an airport train - two carriages!), noticed the waterlogged fields near Inverurie and Keith, and eventually stood up at Nairn to let the copious amounts of buggies and shoppers into the carriage. It was worse than a London train at rush hour, and some of the shoppers and buggies just couldn't fit on. I think Scotrail are missing a trick or three - more carriages on the line, please.

Mum and Rory met me at the station and we headed straight for Artysans for lunch. Poor Dad wasn't fit to come out or even speak much. He's trying to fight off a bug and doesn't wish to give it to anyone else. We all wish him lots of get well cheer.

It's lovely to be home. Hooray!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.