POG's Journal

By POG

Objects of Desire...

The say there are two brands of cycle components... 
1) Campagnolo.
2) All the rest.
As a life long bike rider I've always gone with Campag. 

Campagnolo produced some non cycling merchandise years ago... I have owned the corkscrew for quite some time. There was the elusive nutcrackers still to get.

I setup a search on eBay to automatically notify me if any were up for sale. Four or five years went by and then BINGO a set for sale in America. So i set my alarm clock  for 2 AM in readiness to bid...I had set myself a limit, posted the bid and LOST... 

A few days later another set appeared in America... So some reviewing of the maximum bid took place, the alarm clock once again set... This time i did WIN!. There came to light a slight miscalculation as i forgot about the import tax (In this case i think forgot means ignored). 

The third item in the photo is called a Peanut Butter Spanner. All track cyclist had then in the 70's and 80's.

So the big questions are:
Q) Have these items changed my life - A) No.
Q) Were they worth the money - A) I guess not, although they will go up in value so there are really sound investments for my old age (See that's how i convinced myself it was good to buy them).
Q) Do they make me smile - A) YES.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.