dreaming

By dreaming

Piece of cake

After making sure that Lex knew where to find the paperwork for my prepaid cremation should I not survive the MRI, I headed off and discovered that it was not a problem at all.  I was as comfortable as it's possible to be when shut up inside that infernally noisy machine, and when I was about to say to the technician "how much longer?" I heard his voice saying "All done."  A wonderful anticlimax.

Then Lex took me to lunch at The Rusty Pelican in Edmonds, a restaurant that didn't exist when I lived there, and treated me to a lovely meal.  Then it was off to Sky Nursery where I purchased four annual pots as part of her birthday gift.  She felt it wasn't right to do this on my birthday, but spending the day doing enjoyable things with her is my favorite thing to do, regardless of the occasion.  That's where I found this gorgeous pink-and-peach rhododendron.

I returned home to a phone call of my friends singing "Happy Birthday", several paper greeting cards, emails from my nieces, an e-card from an old friend, and several posts to my Facebook timeline page wishing me well.  What more could I ask for?

Well, actually, cooler weather.  We broke the record for today, and are expected to do the same for the next three days.  On Saturday, library day, it will be 86 degrees - that's 23 degrees above normal.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.